OOTD: Pastel business casual

Some of you may be looking at my more outrageous outfits and thinking, “Does she dress like that all the time?”

The answer is no. As much as I love getting be-tutu-ed and decked out in spikes and studs and rainbow clip-in bangs, it’s neither practical for everyday nor appropriate for office work.

I do like to inject some color into my workwear, though. And I have been known in multiple workplaces for my large collection of fascinators. They make great conversation-starters!

Here’s an example of an average workday outfit:

Top and small pearl necklace: thrifted, cardigan: Talbots, pants: Old Navy, fascinator and large pearl necklace: So Good, earrings: Sick for Cute (free gift with a purchase)

Talbots is not the kind of place I would normally shop, but both of my grandmothers love it, so they sometimes take me there or give me money to spend there on work clothes. This pastel striped cardigan, which my grandmother on my dad’s side bought me a few years ago, is one of my favorite pieces from there.

I love how adding a vintage-y fascinator and pearls makes any outfit automatically classy.

The pants are basic corduroys from Old Navy. I’ve looked long and hard for “real” work pants, with no luck. These cords are the closest thing I can find, and they’re reasonably comfortable. I also have them in black.

Recently, I got a pair of dark purple corduroy skinny pants from Torrid, which also make good work pants–you can see them in the second picture here. I ordered a pair of black pinstripe pants along with them, but alas, those didn’t fit. I’m still hoping to find good pinstripe pants someday–they were a staple of my wardrobe through much of high school and college, and I’d love to have a pair of them again.

I’m thinking about doing a series of work outfits, or maybe just adding a “workwear” tag to some of my OOTDs. What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

