Friday Links, 9/6/13

Muriel Landers (source: Fuck Yeah Historical Fat Ladies)

Whew, am I glad it’s Friday.

Climate and Sustainability
A great interview with Naomi Klein on grassroots climate activism and the problem with many big green groups.
-If you want to see more pictures from the Energy Exodus, check out this Flickr set.
-Have I mentioned lately that I love David Roberts? Well, I’m going to say it again.  His top 20.5 parting insights on climate change, written before he started a year-long sabbatical, are brilliant.
-An important reminder about the history of the Brayton Point coal plant, which stands near the site where Native Americans were massacred in 1676.
-I love the #PowerShiftJourneys profiles of young leaders.
The NYT has a great profile of Mosaic, the solar energy investing site.
We should add climate change to the civil rights agenda.
Solidarity in diversity is key to powering up the climate movement.
-Sandra Steingraber writes about her experience spending 15 days in jail after a civil disobedience action.
-Bill McKibben writes about the necessity of a leaderless, decentralized but connected climate movement.

One thing I never get tired of watching: fabulous fat bellydancers.

Fa(t)shion
-The Advanced Style coloring book is now out! Whooo!
-This comic about fashion tips from nature is great.
-I’m so jealous of Nicolette Mason, who got to visit Tarina Tarantino’s sparkle factory!
-Also of Haley and Amanda, who got a sneak preview of the new Re/Dress store that’s opening in Cleveland.
-I just found out that there’s a Canadian plus size clothing company called Laura. It must be named after me, right? 😉
-This bride’s pink ombre tutu is amazeballs.

Fat Acceptance
Fat men are a feminist issue.
-Jes has put out a call for workshops for the Body Love Conference.
The wolf in the cereal bowl: how Special K and other companies co-opt body acceptance to sell body shame.
-If you’re here in Boston, check out Rachel’s class on body acceptance and love!
-Fat queer people of color, check out the new Facebook group Succulents.
How to be a fat activism ally.
I’m the fattest I’ve ever been and I’m ok with it.
I’m the fattest person I know, but that doesn’t mean you’re not fat too.

I like this new storm-naming plan.

Everything Else
-Absolutely beautiful: an open letter to Tiana Parker and all the little girls with nappy, nappy hair.
-This comic illustrating a quote from Sophie Scholl on courage and resistance is amazing. Just amazing.
-I love Kit’s reflections on activism, nature, and nurture.
-Firefly is one of my favorite shows ever, so I’m always happy to come across new of it–like this one about the way the show addresses the injustice of our economic system.
-On Penny Arcade, “dickwolves,” and misogyny withing gaming culture.
-Some really important ideas about othering in here: Teju Cole’s 9 questions about Britain you were too embarrassed to ask.
-Diana Nyad, the 64-year old woman who swam from Cuba to Miami, is a total badass.
-A lovely shout-out to hood dykes.
The origins of twerking: what it is, what it means, and how it got appropriated.
The 48 best examples of street art in 2012.

This video from the Canadian climate movement is seriously inspiring.

Also inspiring: this step-dancing flash mob at a Wal-Mart in North Carolina. Dancing just makes everything better.

Leave a comment