Friday links, 3/29/13

It’s spring, and the cupcakes are in bloom!

Fa(t)shion
The Style Crone and the Idiosyncratic Fashionistas always go to the best parties, full of people in fabulous outfits. I wish my life were that glamorous!
-There’s some amazing fa(t)shion in Offbeat Bride’s reader round-up. I’m especially in love with the rainbow tutu dress, of course.
-Japanese brand 6%DOKIDOKI’s new mook (magazine/book) sounds awesome.
-The Limited’s plus size line Eloquii is closing. I’ve never bought clothing from them, but it’s always disappointing to see a plus size option disappear.
Plus size clothing: Canada vs. the US.

Fat Acceptance
-Ragen answers the question, “what if I hate exercise?
I’m fat, and that’s fine.
-Over at Glorify, Tori writes about the constant, conflicting messages about which foods are “healthy.”
Weight talk, business travel edition.
-Reflections on the desire to be thin.
-Rachele of the Nearsighted Owl is drawing fat babes, and she’ll draw anyone who emails her!
This interview with Natalie of Definatalie is great (and damn, I love that flower crown she’s wearing in the first picture).

Climate/Sustainability
Do we all have to live like New Yorkers? Does density matter?  I think this is a really important piece, and I’m glad that we don’t have to turn the entire country into NYC in order to attain energy efficiency. (Where I live now is almost as dense as NYC, and I do love it, but damn if I don’t wish we had more green space.)
Can we shift to renewable energy? Yes. As to how…
Tar sands resistance escalates in Massachusetts.
The least sustainable city: Phoenix as a harbinger for our hot future.
-Awesomeness: in Cincinnati, an urban farming oasis is saved from the bulldozer blade.
-It’s time for slow money.
This piece about a potential upcoming economic crash is convincing, and scary. Our economic system needs to be rebuilt, but that’s not going to happen without some pretty bad shit happening first. And I’m not looking forward to that.

Everything Else
-I’m totally going to try this idea for hanging plates.
-A  thoughtful piece on Michelle Shocked, mental illness, Christian fundamentalism, and sexual identity.
Why that list of the “40 hottest women in tech” is absolutely disgusting. You tell ’em, Lesley!
On coming out as a Nigerian boi.
No more Steubenvilles: how to raise boys to be kind men.
Glorious takedowns of #safetytipsforladies.

Leave a comment