If Christina Aguilera is fat, then I’m a pink hedgehog

Ok, I kind of do want to be a pink hedgehog.

That said, I’m rolling my eyes at the latest example of thin white celebrities appropriating fat acceptance language. (I’m looking at you, Lady Gaga.)

I like Christina Aguilera, and I’m glad that she’s happy with her body. But this? Really?

“You are working with a fat girl. Know it now and get over it,” Aguilera, 31, said she told her record label as she recorded her upcoming album, Lotus, due in November.

Uhhhh…..fatness is somewhat subjective and socially constructed and all, but there’s no universe in which this is it.

Recalling the promotion of her 2002 album Stripped, The Voice judge said she was tired of being “toothpick thin,” adding that she’s of Ecuadorian heritage and not some “skinny, blue-eyed white girl.”

Right, because white people can’t be fat. Err, “fat.” And Hispanic heritage erases the privilege of appearing white.

Sure.

I can’t say it much better than Nudiemuse, so I’ll leave you with her words:

Fuck everyone who is suddenly on the accept yourself boat.

Why do I say that?

The message when people like LG and the ensuing media coverage come out as the faces of bodily acceptance is that Thin and White and Pretty is all that is good and right in the world. Look if you want to at Lady Gaga in her bra and panties. She is ever so “fat”, it must be terrible existing in a body that you know is held up as a standard of what a “good” body is.

Terrible right?

My problem is that not one of these people is actually fat and when actual fat people say the same fucking things we are excoriated, bullied, hated and told to die.

Yeah…that’s pretty much it.

 

Leave a comment