Sunday links, 3/22/15

Giant ice floes that I saw last weekend on Cape Cod.

Giant ice floes that I saw last weekend on Cape Cod.

Fa(t)shion
35 plus size Instagram babes rocking crop tops.
Melissa McCarthy’s clothing line will launch in August. Woohoo!
30 plus size skirts for spring.
-Why banning models with a low BMI is a bad idea.
How to DIY a watercolor headband.
Rihanna’s all-pink outfit is everything.
-I love Marie Antoinette’s stunning costumes at the Steppenwolf Theater in Chicago (more pictures here).
Sports Authority announces plus size activewear launch–and that’s kind of a huge deal.
What elements can make items of clothing read as “young” or “old”?
Re/Dress is hiring, for two positions in Cleveland and one online.

Fat Acceptance
We’re not lapping people on the couch.
-Contribute to the Saving Juicy’s Ass Fund to help a fat activist and burlesque dancer through a health crisis.
Vice interviews Substantia Jones about the Adipositivity Project (not work-safe).

woman standing on top of ice floe on beach looking proud

I have conquered the ice!

Climate and Sustainability
The Guardian is calling on the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and the Wellcome Trust to divest from fossil fuels. You can join them by signing the petition halfway down the page.
-Big news: the UN backs fossil fuel divestment.
Students occupy Swarthmore College in fossil fuel divestment protest.
How companies make us forget that we need to consume less to stop climate change.
-This is…a bit worrisome: NASA says California has one year of water left.
An update from 350 Vanuatu after Cyclone Pam.
Developed nations have sown the wind, Vanuatu has reaped the whirlwind.

Jobs and the Economy
-“If we no longer force people to work to meet their basic needs, won’t they stop working?”
-This headline is so clickbait-y, but also true: If you own a pitchfork, you will grab it when you see this chart.
Support Scott Santens creating support for a basic income guarantee.

man walking in distance with lots of ice on beach

Everything Else
On leaving online social justice spaces: there is more than one road. This is something I relate to a lot; although I’m not planning to leave online social justice spaces myself, I have been pulling back from them lately for multiple reasons. (I’ve also been taking a break from reading or thinking too much about heavy and depressing things, so if you’ve noticed that my link roundups are fluffier than usual, that’s why. It’s not that I don’t think these issues are important, or that I want to ignore them forever, but it’s been a long winter and I need a break.)
Questions I’ve been not answering.
-“There are so many right answers of how to live.”
Sometimes I’m not in the mood to be young and beautiful.
-Why Netanyahu’s win is good for Palestine.
Women up in arms: Zapatistas and Rojava Kurds embrace a new gender politics.
6 women reveal the challenging reality of not having paid maternity leave.
When men want kids–and women aren’t so sure.
I was the girl who was never ever going to have kids, but I changed my mind.
How I keep cool when I’m unsure about wanting kids.
The next AA? Welcome to Moderation Management, where abstinence from alcohol isn’t the answer.
13 contemporary feminist books to build a fantastically empowering reading list.
-This tiny sculpture of a dragon eating rainbow cake is the cutest thing.
-Kani visited an amazing pink lake in Melbourne, which I’d love to see someday.
-More pictures of the massive ice chunks on the Cape.

close-up of icebergs on beach

2 thoughts on “Sunday links, 3/22/15

  1. So many wonderful things in this round-up! I love that Melissa McCarthy is launching her own line and that she wants the site to be a space to talk with women about body image and clothing. What a wonderful way to show another of her talents and to communicate with the women who admire her.

    The spring skirts! I had to close the tab before I got too excited. Because. Budget. So many pastels! So many florals! Good gracious I could get myself into trouble.

    Lastly, why spend so much time looking at those skirts and spending money there, when I should really be concentrating my efforts towards buying those Marie Antoinette costumes right off the stage. Seriously fabulous. I love the contemporary take, the kitsch, and all of the excess. I also love Sofia Coppola’s film Marie Antoinette for all the same reasons!

    ❤ Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com

    • Yeah, I am really excited about Melissa McCarthy’s clothing line!

      I know what you mean, those spring skirts are so tempting. I’ve been seeing so many floaty, delicate floral dresses and skirts around the internet, and I just want to buy them all.

      I love Sofia Coppola’s film Marie Antoinette too! Everything about its aesthetics is amazing.

Leave a Reply

