Fatshion February, day 21: Purple and black

My friend Maggie and I always match. I don’t even know how we do it. We never coordinate our outfits in advance, but we always end up wearing similar color schemes. On Saturday, when I had a few people over to hang out and watch Star Trek and Firefly, we were both wearing black and purple.

me and maggie in matching purple and black outfits

plus size goth glam witchy outfit with purple tunic and black leggings

Top: Re/Dress, leggings: Domino Dollhouse, cardigan: Kohl’s, shoes: L.L. Bean, flower crown: Crown & Glory, amethyst acorn necklace and earrings: SpaceForestCraft, other jewelry: miscellaneous, lipstick: NYX Wicked Lippies in Betrayal

closeup of me and maggie and purple outfits

It’s hard to tell from the pictures, but Maggie’s necklace says “Flawless”!

plus size gothy witch outfit with sequined cardigan and dark purple lipstick

I love, love, love how dark lipstick looks on me–I just wish it stayed on better. I’ve never found a dark lipstick that didn’t smudge and come off easily, which is why I usually stick with light-colored stains and glosses (like Revlon’s Just Bitten Kissable lipstains, which are my absolute favorite, and which I have in five or six colors).

close-up of burgundy and purple floral headband and crystal and pearl necklaces

My outfit was sort of a lazy woodland-witchy-goth look; lots of accessories, but not many layers of clothing. I love layered strega and dark mori looks, but they take a while to put together, and they’re also quite impractical. Leggings plus an asymmetric tunic and a cardigan is much more comfortable and easier to move around in.

plus size sparkly witchy black and purple outfit

plus size outfit purple asymmetric tunic and black leggings

My friend Emily made a delicious giant cookie that was as big as my head. 🙂

me holding a giant chocolate chip cookie

plus size dark purple witchy outfit

2 thoughts on “Fatshion February, day 21: Purple and black

  1. I love that we share a flair for fantasy and truly thematic, fanciful looks. Your description of your outfit as “lazy woodland-witchy-goth look” cracked me up because I’ll describe my outfits with similarly long and romanticized phrases. I think purple and black looks both regal and darkly romantic. I have an eggplant colored skirt that I’ve previously worn with brighter colors, but last week I paired it with black and really liked the “dark queen” vibe.

    Isn’t it great when you’re accidental twinsies with a friend? It drives Kyle mad because we’ve started accidentally coordinating on a daily basis. I don’t know how it happens, but it’s hilarious. Maybe it’s just evidence of a true kindred spirit?

    ❤ Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com

Leave a Reply

