Sunday links, 2/15/15: snowpocalypse edition

porch covered in piles of snow, nearly up to the second floor

It’s getting a little ridiculous.

Fa(t)shion
Rihanna’s pink cupcake dress = love. It reminds me a bit of Kaylee’s shindig dress in Firefly, too.
-Kelsey shows off her visible belly outline.
Moms launch stereotype-bashing clothing line that challenges what it means to be “girly.”
-Advice on how to style a tutu for everyday wear.

Fat Acceptance
-Naomi writes about loving her fat body, learning to enjoy movement, and creating a fitness app as a fat woman.
Things obesity isn’t.
-ARGH: Legislators in Puerto Rico are debating a bill that would fine parents of obese children up to $800 if they don’t lose weight.
-A roundtable of HAES experts talk about social determinants of health and the role of social justice in HAES: part 1 and part 2.
The incredibly bravery of fat-shaming children.
Size and prejudice: on the issues faced by larger fat people.
Medical discrimination against fat people–again.
What if I lose weight doing my Ironman?

Climate and Sustainability
Dispatches from the Seneca Lake uprising–including a delicious-sounding farm-to-table civil disobedience banquet (!).
-May Boeve of 350.org interviews Naomi Klein about low oil prices, the power of fossil fuel divestment, and how build a more kick-ass climate movement.
Women lead the march for climate leadership in California.
Why Harvard students are sitting-in outside Drew Faust’s office.
Love and fire: a prayer for Keystone.

Jobs and the Economy
Pink entrepreneurship, and why I’m happy to work in a “pink” industry.
-An excerpt from Ai-Jen Poo’s new book, The Age of Dignity: Preparing for the Elder Boom in a Changing America.
What no one told me about small farming: I can’t make a living.
Dear contract academic faculty: I see you.

Why growth and the environment can’t co-exist, explained with orange juice:

Everything Else
What it’s like living in Boston right now. This is so true, and it’s why I’ve been grumpy as hell lately.
-On a happier note: 21 super-cute dogs who are embracing this never-ending winter.
-A petition to hire Jessica Williams as the new host of The Daily Show.
For those of us who the world is not ready, qualified, willing, or able to love: Happy Valentine’s Day.
A surprising tool to slow gentrification: land trusts.
-The Chicago Childcare Collective is such an awesome idea: a group of volunteers who provide childcare so that parents, especially mothers, can participate in racial and economic justice organizing.

This ballet routine set to Hozier’s “Take Me to Church” is amazing.

6 thoughts on “Sunday links, 2/15/15: snowpocalypse edition

  1. Great link,as always. That Childcare Collective is kinda blowing my mind. That is SO awesome!

    A few of my kids’ teachers and my neighbors have been arrested at the We Are Seneca almost-daily protest. I feel awful for not going ,even having the chance but I’m honestly worried about getting arrested. I can’t afford that right now.

    • Thanks! Yeah, it blew my mind too!

      I can definitely understand not being able to take the risk of arrest. I hope you can find another way to support the protests–there needs to be room for everyone, including those who can’t risk arrest, in the movement.

  2. Holy cow, that snow! We have just a sheet of ice and snow on the ground, and the greater part of Nashville is entirely shut down. lol I’m being careful not to complain to my family up in Michigan so as to survive to see summer.

    Off to read a handful of these articles. I’m cruising along with my work today, so I’m looking forward to tuck into some reading!

    ❤ Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com

Leave a Reply

