OOTD: Blushing at the Slutcracker

Last month I went to see The Slutracker, one of Somerville’s most awesome holiday traditions. It’s a burlesque parody of the Nutcracker, using all of the original classical music, and a variety of dancing styles from ballet to hula hooping to flamenco to pole dancing.

plus size outfit light pink tutu and coat in front of slutcracker signs
Of course I had to dress as over-the-top as possible to go see it (although I did remove my giant hair flower before the show started, so as not to block anyone’s view). I’ve been really into blush and black color schemes lately, so I put together as much pale pink as possible with some black sequins for balance.

plus size outfit blush tutu and black sequin cardigan

Coat: Nicolette Mason for ModCloth, tutu: Zelie for She via Re/Dress, top: Re/Dress, cardigan: Kohl’s, shoes: L.L. Bean, necklace and earrings: Betsey Johnson via eBay, butterfly veil and giant flower: ASOS, other jewelry: miscellaneous, tote bag: LeSportSac via eBay

plus size outfit blush tulle skirt, black fishnet top, sequin sweater, giant hair flower

One of the things I love about the Slutcracker is the diversity of bodies performing. There are women and men of many different shapes and sizes (although still far fewer men than women), and it’s wonderful to see people who look like me onstage, confidently shaking their stuff in skimpy costumes.

plus size outfit closeup black fishnet top, betsey johnson necklace, pink hair flower rose

I love this tutu so much–I only wish it didn’t rip so easily, and that the waistband were a bit stretchier. It’s so weird that it’s a 4x, yet it’s tighter than most of the 2x and 3x skirts I own…but women’s clothing sizing has never made sense, so I guess shouldn’t be surprised.

plus size outfit black top and pink tulle skirt

I’ve found ASOS to be a surprisingly good source for over-the-top hair accessories. The giant rose is just about my favorite thing ever.

I also have the veil in black with multicolored butterflies, which I should wear sometime soon.

plus size outfit black sequin jacket and pink tulle skirt

plus size black and pink tulle outfit

plus size outfit pink tutu and black mesh top

closeup black mesh top, pink hair flower

closeup of pink and gold betsey johnson key and heart statement necklace

closeup of giant pink rose fascinator and pink rhinestone heart earring

 

8 thoughts on “OOTD: Blushing at the Slutcracker

  1. I’ve got so much love for this outfit! The hair triffid is awesome, the necklace is divine, and that skirt is lovely!

    I’ve bought another tutu skirt – ASOS Curve are doing a black one now and I had a 20% off code so I went for it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

