OOTD: black and white pattern-mixing with a holographic pop

I was sorting through my closet this weekend, trying to pick which items to bring to a clothing swap I’m holding in a few weeks, and almost threw this dress into the swap pile. I haven’t worn it in forever because the straps don’t quite cover my bra, so it’s not appropriate for fancy occasions.

But then I saw my studded button-down shirt hanging near it, and I had an idea. And I’m really happy with how it turned out! This kind of mix-and-match outfit creation–playing with pattern and texture within a limited color palette, or vice versa–is exactly what I love about fashion.

plus size outfit black and white mesh dress, black top, polka dot leggings, fuzzy bolero

Dress: Dress Barn via eBay, top: Marshall’s, shrug: SimplyBe, leggings: Re/Dress, snow boots: from my mom, tote bag: ASOS, necklace: a gift shop in France (I’ve also seen it available online at La Marelle, although it is currently sold out), earrings: Faces (which is closing, boo), fascinator: from my aunt, rings: old, wristbands: So Good

plus size outfit black button down top with black and white dress, black hair bow

This fuzzy shrug is literally the most comfortable thing ever. I also have it in hot pink, and am crossing my fingers that it’ll come back in stock in my size in black. Somehow I’ve ended up without a comfortable, basic black sweater, except for a very old and holey one that I got at Target years ago.

plus size black and white outfit with fuzzy shrug
These leggings are also incredibly comfortable. I wish all my leggings were this soft; I have a bunch of leggings in various prints (stripes, floral, leopard) from cheap juniors’ stores, and now I never wear them because I’ve been spoiled by Re/Dress and Domino Dollhouse. Oh well.

plus size outfit tulle black and white dress over black top and polka dot leggings

plus size black and white outfit with polka dot leggings and holographic bag

closeup of french necklace of girl on a swing

I’ve been so into gold glittery nail polish lately. It’s all I want to wear, all the time! So my toes are gold and sparkly too, even though no one will see them much until spring.

closeup of hands with rings and rhinestone wristbands

holographic tote bag sitting on snowy ground

11 thoughts on “OOTD: black and white pattern-mixing with a holographic pop

  1. I have to admit, it’s a little strange to see you rocking monochome, but I love it! It’s less colourful, but the styling is still so you! I love that shrug, it looks super cozy!

  2. Pingback: Alternative Curves: Black (ok, actually dark purple) lipstick | Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

