Alternative Curves: Leader of the (’90s Punk Girl) Pack

plus size punk 90s outfit with plaid dress and fishnet top

I missed last month’s Alternative Curves blog hop, since it was only open for a week, but luckily this one is open all month. November’s theme is Leader of the Pack, which I interpreted in a ’90s goth-punk way, inspired mostly by The Craft (which I somehow haven’t seen yet–this must be remedied). I’ve just been itching to wear baby barrettes and combat boots lately, so this was the perfect opportunity!

90s alternative plaid punk plus size outfit

Dress: Domino Dollhouse, top: Re/Dress, jacket: Torrid via a clothing swap, skull ring: Torrid, boots: Hot Topic (ancient), earrings: Buffalo Exchange, tattoo choker: eBay, all other jewelry: really old

plus size punk fishnet top outfit

You wouldn’t believe how long it took to get my hair into two vaguely symmetrical buns. My hair just does not do symmetry, which is too bad because I love the ’90s double-bun look and would rock it regularly if I could get my hair to cooperate.

90s plus size plaid punk oufit

90s blue plaid punk outfit plus size

plus size pleather and mesh top punk outfit

These boots are old enough to be rebellious teenagers themselves–I’ve had them since I was 15, which makes them 14 (and makes me feel old).

hot topic shiny black platform combat boots

Remember jelly bracelets? I still have all of mine, although they just barely fit me now. They were one of my fashion staples in high school, and I always thought that urban legend about them representing sex acts was so ridiculous. Our society’s fear of teenage sexuality certainly leads to some entertaining myths, if nothing else.

black and blue jelly bracelets and skull ring

rose ring and studded wristband

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

12 thoughts on “Alternative Curves: Leader of the (’90s Punk Girl) Pack

  1. Totally badass!! I love dem shiny shiny plastic boots, and all the necklace layering. You look so coooool. But seriously – go and watch The Craft RIGHT NOW.

  2. I concur with the other two about watching the craft, you’ll love it I’m sure. I remember jelly bracelets and the silly rumors that go with them, hilarious! You rock that hair style and I love the boots too! x

Leave a Reply

