OOTD: Globe-trotting glamour

plus size black dress with pink accessories

I wore this outfit to meet up with a friend who was visiting from out of town. I felt particularly sophisticated since the necklace is from Iceland and the fascinator is from France. The earrings are from a small shop in Shelburne Falls, which may not be particularly exotic or worldly, but is nonetheless a beautiful place.

plus size  black outfit with pink leggings, necklace, fascinator, and earrings

Dress: Target (really old), teggings: Re/Dress, cardigan: Kohl’s (also really old), necklace: Leynibudin, fascinator: Brykalski, earrings: a shop whose name I don’t remember in Shelburne Falls, MA, bracelets: Macy’s, So Good, and Torrid, shoes: Naot

Me and Emily, who was visiting from Washington, D.C. and wearing a wonderfully sparkly sweater:

me and emily sitting outside and dinner

Our friend Michi always has creative, well-put-together outfits, and this time was no exception. Unfortunately the picture came out a little blurry, but you can still see her amazing cat tights!

me and michi

I’ve been obsessed with all things ombre for a while, so I fell in love with this necklace the moment I saw it. The entire shop was full of gorgeous velvet necklaces and headbands.

IMG_7354

Shopping in Iceland was great, although expensive. Strangely enough, I didn’t find much shopping I enjoyed in Paris–maybe I just went to the wrong neighborhoods–but Reykjavik’s Laugavegur Street was a paradise of pretty things.

plus size black and pink outfit

Re/Dress’ teggings are wonderful. I wish the fun-colored ones came in the extra-long length, though. The regular length ones don’t quite cover my ankles, which gets annoying in the winter.

To be honest, I don’t really understand why the “regular” length hits just above the ankle. I’d rather just have mid-calf teggings for the summer and long ones for the winter; anything between that doesn’t make much sense to me, either aesthetically or in terms of weather appropriateness.

plus size black dress with pink necklace and fascinator

8 thoughts on “OOTD: Globe-trotting glamour

  1. Oh so that pink thing in your hair is a ‘fascinator’. I think you wore it in a earlier photo post and I couldn’t figure out what it was, just thought it was some pretty arranged fabric XD

    That necklace is lovely looking, is the velveteen fabric stiff?

Leave a Reply

