OOTD: Cruella DeVille-ish

Inspired by the many awesome black-and-white outfits I’ve seen around the fatshion-o-sphere, I decided to try my hand at my own.

black and white polka dot plus size outfit with feather headband

Tunic: Aster via Zulily, bellydance top worn underneath tunic: from a clothing swap, skirt: Deb, leggings: Re/Dress, shoes: Naot, necklace: clothing swap, earrings: not sure, headband: Brykalski

plus size black and white outfit with feather headband and pearls

I really wish this tunic were better quality. I’m so into the asymmetric hem and the contrasting prints; I’d love for it to be a long-term wardrobe staple, but I’ve only worn it a few times and it’s already pilling and fading. Uggh, pilling is the bane of my existence. And those random fuzzy spots that show up for no discernible reason, which happened to the back of these leggings.

plus size black and white mixed polka dots outfit

The leggings are incredibly comfortable. They’re so soft that I literally pet my own legs when I’m wearing them (when there’s no one else around, of course). However, I’m skeptical of Re/Dress’ claim that they fit sizes 14-26. I usually wear a 22, sometimes smaller on the bottom (for example, I wear a 16 in ASOS Curve leggings, and a 1x in Domino Dollhouse leggings), and these ones fit me perfectly without much extra stretch. Unless they have some magical power that isn’t readily apparent, I doubt they’d fit anyone much bigger than me. Their teggings, however, are super-stretchy, so I would recommend them to anyone who wears up to 4x or 5x.

plus size black and white polka dot mixed prints outfit

While wearing this outfit, I went to the Fluevog store in Boston and ended up getting a pair of polka dot brogues! By the time I got home, it was too dark to take more outfit pictures, but at some point I’ll have to wear this outfit again with those shoes.

I also got a pair of lavender and teal Mary Janes with reddish-orange trim, and cobalt blue strappy sandals for next summer. I have the hardest time finding shoes, so it was exciting to find some cute shoes that actually fit! And luckily, all three pairs were on sale. The saleswoman was so helpful and friendly, too–and it turns out she also plays viola in a local band called Jaggery.

Leave a Reply

