OOTD: Comfy and casual with a dinosaur on my back

IMG_7949

I’m trying to drag myself away from the whole Lena Dunham debacle that’s been taking over the feminist internet, so, here’s an outfit I wore recently on a weekend trip to visit family. On the way there, my brother, Steve, and I stopped to take a walk at a New York state park, which also provided a good background for outfit pictures.

Top: the Big Thrifty, capris: Pajama Jeans via Zulily, sneakers: Brooks, headband: Crown & Glory, backpack: MadPax via Amazon, necklace: So Good, earrings: a small store in Western Mass., sunglasses: Sweet & Lovely

plus size outfit deerie lou shirt and jean capris

This backpack is the best purchase I’ve made in a long time. I bought it intending to use it for travel, and almost returned it when I saw that it was too small for that purpose–but I’m so glad I didn’t. I’ve started using it for everyday stuff instead of a tote bag, and it’s been wonderful. It’s far more comfortable than carrying a heavy tote bag on one shoulder, and it gets a ridiculous number of compliments. I think I’ve gotten a compliment on it from a stranger nearly every day since I started carrying it, and that makes me so happy.IMG_7986

Later that day, we went to the Grounds for Sculpture, a sculpture garden in New Jersey full of a fabulous combination of kitsch and serious art. There were so many sculptures of people, some quite realistic, that after a while I started wondering which people were real and which were fake…

sculpture garden with lake

IMG_8029

IMG_8039

IMG_8037

full (28)

There were also peacocks walking the grounds of the park, which was just a really cool place. If you’re ever in New Jersey, I recommend check it out! Then you too can stand underneath a giant Marilyn Monroe. 🙂

8 thoughts on “OOTD: Comfy and casual with a dinosaur on my back

Leave a Reply

