Clothing for “all women” is not actually for all women (surprise!)

Ragen recently posted about Fabletics, an athletic wear company started by Kate Hudson. Although it claims to be for “women of all shapes and sizes,” shockingly enough, it’s not–it’s only for women who wear between a size 0-2/XS and 18-20/XXL. Their sizing is generous enough that I could probably fit into their bottoms, and possibly their tops if they’re sufficiently stretchy, which is more than I can say for a lot of brands that end at 18-20/XXL. But it’s still nowhere near inclusive of “all women.”

This is the letter I submitted to their contact page. If you’re also bothered by their messaging, consider sending them a note as well.

Dear Fabletics,

I am writing with regard to your messaging that your clothing is for “every body type,” “women of all shapes and sizes,” and “all women.” Contrary to these messages, I noticed that Fabletic’s clothes end at size XXL/18-20.

I appreciate that this is a broader range of sizing than most athletic brands. However, it still comes nowhere near including all women. As a woman who usually wears a size 20 or 22, I could probably fit into the bottoms, but not the tops; and I know many women larger than myself who would love to buy affordable, fashionable athletic wear if it was available in their size.

I am not asking you to expand your size range, although that would be great–I am merely asking that you be honest in your messaging. A size range from 0-2 to 18-20 includes many women, perhaps even a majority of women, but it definitely does not include “all women.”

If you do decide that you genuinely want to make clothes for all women, I recommend following the example of eShakti, a manufacturer that sells clothing in sizes 0 through 36 and also offers custom sizing.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,
Laura

3 thoughts on “Clothing for “all women” is not actually for all women (surprise!)

  1. Jesusfuck. (Can I say that here?) I decided to take their “fit quiz” for funsies. The fourth or so question in asks me to identify my body type — “petite,” “lean,” “curvy,” or “athletic” (CHOOSE ONE). Never mind that multiple descriptors could be true for the same person.

    Going to compose my own letter now, sans religious references or profanity.

  2. Pingback: Dear Kelly Osbourne, women larger than a size 24 exist | Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

