Sunday links, 6/1/14

Waterlilies I saw on a recent trip to Longwood Gardens (which I’ll post more pictures from soon, including my outfit!)

Fa(t)shion
Bike helmets that look like hats are a great idea.
This bride’s hot pink hair plus black and being tulle dress = awesome.
eShakti for the petite plus size fashion lover. Personally, my experiences with eShakti haven’t been great, but I know a lot of people love them….
H&M gets slightly less evil, recycles your clothes into new jeans.
Meet the organizer who pulled off the Gap Does More hoax.
-I love Kate’s roundup of rainbow clothing, accessories, and home goods. I so wish the clothes came in size fat, though…
3 female writers who loved fashion. I think it’s so important to point out that, contrary to the popular view that fashion is frivolous, it’s entirely possible to be a serious intellectual who loves dressing up.
-Affatshionista rounds up bikinis that come in 4x or larger.
How to draw inspiration from any image.
Tomgirl vs. girly-boy style.

Fat Acceptance
-SO MUCH YES: Loving your body isn’t a diet. I hate when people co-opt FA language to say, “If you truly love and accept your body, then you’ll lose weight!”
-Also SO MUCH YES to this: Why are fat people’s needs always considered inconvenient or an afterthought?
-Ragen is collecting FA victory stories.
Teen tennis star’s success is a powerful argument against body-shaming.
-Awesome fatspo: these bellydancers and this mermaid/peacock Mardi Gras costume.
The most important match question on OKCupid: fat girls, desire, online dating, and “preferences.”
It’s always a radical act when a fat women shares a picture of herself online.

Huzzah for fat pole-dancers!

Climate and Sustainability
Revolutionaries, Transcendentalists, and some thoughts from farming.
A super-cut of the funniest climate change videos.
Is rape a fair price for oil and gas?
Sunfunder = a crowdfunding platform that’s like Kiva for solar power. I love finding out about stuff like this.
Intersectionality isn’t just a win-win–it’s the only way.
Google unveils its designs for a self-driving car, and it will change our cities and suburbs.
Like Big Tobacco, Big Energy targets the developing world for future profits.
-Two cool examples of art that helps the environment: a poem about air made of pollution-removing material, and a sculpture that helps rehabilitate a river.

Jobs and the Economy
This is the most convincing piece I’ve read yet about the dangers of constant economic growth. I don’t like that Monbiot mentions fashion derisively toward the end, but aside from that, this is such a must-read. Even if you don’t think you’re interested in economics. Especially if you don’t think you’re interested in economics.
-On a similar note, more in depth: Nothing grows forever. Why do we keep thinking the economy will?
-Oh boy can I relate to this: The era of the permatemp.
Pixel and dimed: on (not) getting by in the gig economy.
The sharing economy, gender, and why individualistic solutions won’t disrupt neoliberalism.
The peril of hipster economics.

tropical pink and green flowers

Everything Else
-Janet Mock writes an open letter to Jane Doe, the 16-year old girl who smiles and dreams from behind bars. Check out Reina’s post for ways you can support #JusticeForJane.
We must not forget Jane Doe’s humanity.
-Great news: Medicare ban on transgender healthcare overturned! And Laverne Cox makes the cover of TIME.
The price of a sex-slave rescue fantasy.
Spying, sex, and finance: what banks and payment processors are secretly watching–to avoid “risk.”
An open letter to people who play devil’s advocate. THIS.
Allies, friends, and the value of utopian visions.
The gentrifier’s guide to getting along: an open letter from a child of Oakland.
-I still have really mixed feelings about the use of trigger warnings in academia, so I found both this professor’s account of why he uses them, and this group of professors’ account of why they don’t, to be convincing. I think trigger warnings/content notes can be really useful, but they also have the potential to be misused in ways that harm the faculty members who already have the least power.
World Cup 2014: 22 staggering images of Brazil’s indigenous tribes taking on the riot police with bows and arrows.
The erasure of Maya Angelou’s sex work history.
Healing PTSD with native medicine.
Black girls and disposability: you can’t throw black girls away.
4 things I wish I knew before graduation about working for social change.

Pretty Things, Fun, and Fluff (which we especially need this week, right?)
37 gorgeous pictures of Iceland.
This adorable hedgehog is traveling the world with his humans.
A gala of golden retrievers!
These gorgeous stones were accidentally created from layers of car paint.
28 pieces of street art that cleverly interact with their surroundings.
15 tiny kittens dressed as fantasy characters.
-Awww, a rock-climbing kitty!

6 thoughts on “Sunday links, 6/1/14

  1. I haven’t actually read the article you posted for the record (no spoons lately for reading anything much longer than a status update, unless it’s poetic in style and/or with lots of pictures/videos), but to process my thoughts, a note on “devil’s advocate” and trigger warnings (TW: detailed description of how PTSD feels, including discussion of suicide)

    This is a conversation style, that has its issues, but not everyone who seems like they are playing “devil’s advocate” actually is.

    I am often accused of playing devil’s advocate when really, every time I express any opinion at all, I am advocating directly for myself or a close personal friend. I don’t name names because to do so would be dangerous for all involve…I protect the identities of myself and my friends fiercely

    I have so many marginalized identities and traumatic experiences that it’s pretty much guaranteed that no matter who I talk to, and no matter what we’re talking about, I will be triggered by something. To the point that I’ve found the only people I can deeply get along with on a regular basis are people I met in places like mental hospitals….people who have also seen and been through it all, and that’s the one core thing we have in common (rather than geography, interests, hobbies, culture, religion, or politics)

    It’s confusing when it veers into censorship, which I don’t support. I support people sharing their truth, openly and honestly and without shame. But I do very much support harm reduction. I support people having full awareness of what’s to come so they can protect themselves from things that would be re-traumatizing to the point of flashbacks, panic attacks, hospitalization, suicidal impulses. I’ve seen too many people I love die from burnout

    It’s important to remember that everyone knows themselves and their own needs better than anyone else, and so to respect these needs fully (including the need to protect oneself, however you may be able to do so)

    I also support people with divergent cultures doing their best to meet in the middle in terms of communication and social norms and needs

    All my life, I have been told I have to change in order to please others. I have been told I’m broken

    It was never considered that perhaps, nobody is perfect, and everyone needs to work equally hard to respect everyone else

    • Oh and for the record, this (and very little I say or do for that matter) is not directed at you, or anyone in particular….I process in patterns. I see patterns of behavior in people that remind me of past experiences, and that’s generally what I go off in making interpersonal decisions

Leave a Reply

