OOTD: the dream of the ’90s is alive in Boston

Sometimes I think, if teenage me could see all the clothing options I have now, she would be so happy. I mean, how much fun is this entire outfit?

plus size 90s outfit with domino dollhouse and asos curve, rainbow digital jacket, pink velvet leggings, star skater dress

Jacket and leggings: Domino Dollhouse (at rock-bottom discount, hells yeah), dress: ASOS Curve, sandals: Clarks, purse: LeSportSac via eBay, necklace: Betsey Johnson via eBay, earrings: Claire’s, baby barrettes: probably CVS or Walgreen’s, skull ring: Kelsea Echo, sunglasses: Sweet and Lovely, belt: Re/Dress

plus size 90s outfit with domino dollhouse and asos curve, rainbow digital jacket, pink velvet leggings, star skater dress

This dress is probably the best purchase I’ve ever made from ASOS Curve. It’s so versatile, it layers well with different fabrics and styles, and I get compliments every time I wear it.

I’ve been so happy to see ’90s fashions coming back into style over the last year or so–I’ve been nostalgic for the ’90s since, well, the ’90s. (By the way, the title of this post is a reference to this Portlandia sketch, which my friend Kit included in her recent post about the ’90s. I need to do a ’90s music post sometime soon too!)

plus size 90s outfit with domino dollhouse and asos curve, rainbow digital jacket, pink velvet leggings, star skater dress

These leggings are so soft that I spent most of the day petting my own legs. I’m serious.

plus size 90s outfit with domino dollhouse and asos curve, rainbow digital jacket, pink velvet leggings, star skater dress

The jacket is really comfortable too, although it has one downside–the wrists are snug, which would make it hard to wear bracelets. And I don’t feel completely dressed unless I’m wearing every conceivable type of jewelry.

plus size 90s outfit with domino dollhouse and asos curve, rainbow digital jacket, pink velvet leggings, star skater dress

betsey johnson gold necklace with rhinestones and spikes

plus size 90s outfit with domino dollhouse and asos curve, rainbow digital jacket, pink velvet leggings, star skater dress

plus size 90s outfit with domino dollhouse and asos curve, rainbow digital jacket, pink velvet leggings, star skater dress

I wore this outfit with my trusty old Clarks, but if it weren’t so damn near impossible to find shoes that fit me, these are the kinds of shoes I’d wear with it (click the image for details):

90s platform shoes
2 thoughts on “OOTD: the dream of the ’90s is alive in Boston

  1. Thanks for the reblog. I love EVERYTHING about this post, so hard. I had my issues with the 90s when I was growing up in it…namely, all the technology and political drama everywhere, both of which were overwhelming and scary to shy young Nikki who just wanted to be left alone in the woods with her few friends. I have obviously embraced social networking at this point, but it took a LONG time…I seriously had a full-on phobia of gadgets growing up, fearing that they would take over the world someday Matrix-style (and I suppose to some extent that has happened, minus the enslavement by armies of robots, and little me would have HATED the world of today. With a passion. I was an old-school hippie even at 6. I listened to Bruce Springsteen and CSNY and wanted everyone to destroy all their gadgets so we could all move to a big happy commune in the middle of nowhere together, and focus on barefoot frolicking through fields of flowers and our art and music and raising chickens full-time. I was a WEIRD kid, and am still a very weird adult).

    In any case, though it took like a decade or so including a few years of full-on addiction, I’ve been able to ultimately integrate technology into my life in a healthy and useful way, even USING technology to coordinate things like communes and barefoot frolicking through fields of flowers and art and music and chickens. 😉 (Well, no chickens yet…but wouldn’t urban chickens and composting be super cool!) So I think balance is key, particularly since nowadays a lot of so-called “hippie” stuff like activism and outdoor music festivals are actually largely planned//envisioned virtually, at least in the beginning stages.

    Like a lot of things about my childhood (green vegetables for instance), it took until adulthood to realize how lucky I actually was and really begin to appreciate what I had. Including for instance Claire’s rubber spicy jewelry (Long Live Claire’s!), neon colors, sparkles, and leg and arm warmers. ^_^ But also the cultural influences of the 90’s overall, and certainly despite my hippie tendencies and longing for a time machine to go to Woodstock, my childhood created who I am today in many ways. The 90s (certain enclaves at least) were very artsy and freak-friendly in so many ways, and passionate about emotional release and change and particularly undoing the damage of 80s yuppie culture, and for that I am now very grateful.

Leave a Reply

