Mini-OOTD: Scarlett & Jo floral prom dress

This is not so much an OOTD as a this-dress-didn’t-quite-work-for-me-but-it’s-so-pretty-let-me-show-you-it-anyway of the day.

I’m still on the hunt for a dress to wear to my cousin’s wedding (and still hoping this dress comes back in stock, because it’s the prettiest). I ordered this floral prom dress from Evans to try it out, and unfortunately it doesn’t work for me–which is so sad, because I’m in love with the print. Photorealistic florals are so my jam.

evans scarlett & jo floral prom dress

It looks ok from the front, but from the side…well, I’m not going to show you the side-view, because it makes me look pregnant. I don’t mean it shows off my VBO, which I’m not opposed to doing–I mean it literally makes me look like I’m about to have a baby. And that’s just not a look I want to go for.

This dress would look gorgeous on someone else, but on my body, it’s just not meant to be…. *sigh.*

evans scarlett & jo floral prom dress

I didn’t bother accessorizing the dress for these pictures, but if it actually fit me, I’d wear it with lots of pearls and a flower fascinator (of course).

evans scarlett & jo floral prom dress

How gorgeous is this print?!

evans scarlett & jo floral prom dress

Another problem with this dress: it’s not very twirly. That alone wouldn’t be a deal-breaker, but since I’m returning it anyway, it makes me feel a little less disappointed.

evans scarlett & jo floral prom dress

7 thoughts on “Mini-OOTD: Scarlett & Jo floral prom dress

  1. Such a fun dress – too bad it didn’t work out for you! I too have issues with certain empire(ish)-waist dresses. Sometimes they hit at a great spot; other times, I look like I’m with child. I find that a dropped empire works best on my body. Otherwise, it needs to be right beneath the bust, or else I get the same effect you’re talking about here.

    It’s funny that you mentioned photo-realistic florals being your thing right now because I just did a post on how I’m seeing them crop up everywhere, too. There are quite a few photo-realistic pieces at Yours Clothing and ASOS Curve that I’m interested in, and a maxi skirt at Anthro that must be mine!…if it ever makes it to sale. And yeah, that dress you’d love to wear? So super gorgeous and gorgeous on you. Fingers crossed for you!

    ❤ Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com

  2. Bizarrely, given that I look pregnant to some degree in pretty much everything, that dress just made me look like I had a gigantic backside from the side. Nowt wrong with that but it’s perplexing if one’s but is actually as flat as a pancake. I kind of liked it but I didn’t like it enough to buy it at full price.

  3. Pingback: Sunday links, 4/27/14 | Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

