A short fatshion rant

Why are nearly all fatkinis halter-style and high-waisted? Neither of these things is comfortable on me (especially the halter, UGH–my neck hurts just thinking about it), but I want to be able to wear a bikini.

I want to rock out with my belly out. I want to wear something other than the one-pieces I’ve always worn because I had no other options. I want to walk onto the beach fat and proud, not ashamed of the stomach that I hated for so long, wearing something just as cute as thin girls get to wear.

Where are the regular-rise, non-halter fatkinis? Anyone? Bueller?

 

10 thoughts on “A short fatshion rant

  1. I HATE halter neck bikinis. I have BIG shoulders and arms and a halter looks wrong on me, and more to the point, they’re damn painful because my boobs are so heavy. Whiplash via the boobs. I hope you can find what you’re looking for!

  2. I thought I was the only one! I hate halters because I don’t like the stress on my neck, and they don’t provide enough support anyways. I’m also in the market for a swimsuit. I’ve had one from Kohl’s for five years, and it really needed to be replaced last year, so I’m way overdue. I’m hoping Lane Bryant is going to launch more of their swimsuits with built-in bras. And I’m not talking the flimsy cups sewn in. Last year they had a few suits with their actual Cacique bras sewn into the suit. Since I wear their bras exclusively, that would be a great option for me.

    But my fantasy suit? I want high-waisted bottoms and a cropped top. You know, something with a vintage look but for plus-size. And not in black! I guess we’ll be on the hunt together!

    ❤ Liz
    http://www.withwonderandwhimsy.com

  3. Amen! Every time I accidentally wear a halter I am soooo sorry!

    Also, swimdresses, WTF. I’d never worn one before last year, when I was so happy to find a suit in my size that I just bought it without considering it. But when you get in the water the skirty part floats up, revealing gross, white, see-thru mesh. WTF? I want a swimsuit to….you know….SWIM in!

    Now I tuck the ends of my skirt into my crotch when I get in the water. I mean, what else can I do?!

  4. Yes! My boobs are 42K. I cannot under any circumstances wear a halter. Ever. And I don’t like the look of the highwaisted stuff. All lower body garments must sit below my belly button. I finally found a serious suit for lap swimming, but I’m still on the hunt for something fun.

  5. Pingback: Dear fatkini manufacturers… | Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

