#FatshionFebruary, day 4: mermaid casual

Some days you just feel like a mermaid, you know?

Top: thrifted, pants and earrings: Target, necklace: present from a friend, hairclip: Crown & Glory

I love how accessories can add a touch of glamour and whimsy to an otherwise plain outfit. It’s something I need to do, to maintain my sense of self and sparkle when I’m dressed for practicality.

It’s so interesting how different people experience getting dressed differently. The other day, I was talking about clothing with a friend, who mentioned that she loves jobs that require uniforms because when she’s wearing one, she knows exactly what role she is supposed to play. For me, it’s the opposite: I just don’t feel comfortable if I’m not expressing my creativity through my clothes or accessories, even in small ways. It brightens my day and makes the world kinder to me.

This top is one of my favorite recent thrifting finds. It’s versatile and pretty and I love how it fits me. I’ll try to get some better pictures of it when I’m not at work! 

3 thoughts on “#FatshionFebruary, day 4: mermaid casual

  1. I love dressing like a mermaid! I have a flowy blue tie-dye mermaid skirt that I wear all the time in the spring and summer, it’s actually from a fairy costume but I’ve turned it into a regular skirt. I admit though that I’m a fan of uniforms also. Some days, I just don’t feel like putting together an outfit, and wearing a uniform allows me to get up and go on these days without stressing. However, there are also usually subtle ways one can be creative with uniforms if you do feel like it that day, for instance hair and accessories. It’s an entertaining challenge for me to find ways to spice up even an otherwise bland outfit, as you said. I went to a private school for high school, and we had a very strict dress code. We had to wear tan bottoms and a solid-colored shirt every day (which is one of the main reasons why I refuse to wear tan bottoms ever again; too many associations). But it could also be fun to figure out ways to show my style even under those restrictions. For instance, I had a go-to punk/goth-ish outfit that I loved and wore regularly: wide-legged pants with all those buckles and straps that were popular at places like Hot Topic & Torrid in the 90’s/early 2000’s (which just so happened to be tan), and a black shirt with a tiny skull on the pocket and a Victorian lace Peter Pan collar.

Leave a Reply

