Sunday links, 9/22/13

Fa(t)shion
-Huzzah! Re/Dress Cleveland is now open. In other exciting Re/Dress news, the iconic Size Queen rainbow zebra dress is now available on their site.
-The Phatshion Peacock hung out in a a fatkini under a waterfall, and the resulting pictures are gorgeous.
-So much nostalgia: the 27 most ’90s outfits worn on Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
-Good news: ASOS Curve has expanded their sizes range to include size 24, which could actually fit women who wear up to a 26-28 since their sizing runs large.
-I love these portraits of women who sell African print fabric in London.

Fat Acceptance
-For the “news that make me want to smash things” files, a toddler in Saudi Arabia was given weight-loss surgery. Fuck.
Fat as a metaphor: don’t do that, everyone will know you’re fat!
Fat kids and formerly-fat kids are at significant risk of eating disorders, yet are more likely to go undiagnosed and untreated.
-So much yes to this quote about the hot fat girl revolution.
-Ragen discusses ways to increase mobility regardless of size.

Everything Else
When your (brown) body is a (white) wonderland: the best analysis I’ve read yet of the racial dynamics in Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance.
-#IAmMargaretMary.
Who is a “journalist?” People who can afford to be.
-In Norway, prisoners are actually treated like people.
Queered science: why social justice and STEM fields should hang out more often.
Occupy at two: how a flawed and fleeting utopia changed the world.
-Roxane Gay is calling for submissions for her new series at Salon featuring writing by feminists (of any gender) of color.
Fear and loathing (as a 21-year old queer) in Singapore.
-I would love to visit this steampunk coffee shop someday.
-This golden retriever’s puppy’s first visit to the beach is the cutest thing ever.

7 thoughts on “Sunday links, 9/22/13

  1. Wow, that Autostraddle essay! She is talking RIGHT TO ME!

    I wasn’t closeted, though … by the time I entered college I had already made it my policy to just tell people whenever it came up, if it ever did. No hiding, no downplaying, no needing to keep my social life hermetically sealed off from my academic one … dunno why it was easier for me than for her. Maybe part of it was that I came out in high school (though not to everyone — we talk about “coming out” like there’s an announcement in the newspaper, but for me it just entailed telling people I was gay — and later, bi — when and if it ever came up), but I suspect a larger part might be that I wasn’t in engineering. I was in a much more female-friendly STEM field, AND I was also simultaneously in the humanities. Maybe with biology not having such a macho atmosphere to it like engineering can have, there is also less homophobia. But weirdly a huge number of my friends in college were male engineering majors (two were gay, the rest were straight), and I never got even the slightest whiff of homophobia from them either.

Leave a Reply

