I am a human being with a body, NOT a disease.

Ugh, ugh, ugh. If you haven’t heard already, the American Medical Association has “recognized” “obesity” as a disease.

I don’t even know how to express how angry this makes me.

But I’m glad to see the fat community responding fiercely and forcefully. I’m glad we are not silent. I’m glad we are resisting together. I’m so grateful I have this community.

A few must-see responses:

1.) Marilyn Wann’s petition to the AMA to stop defining “obesity” as a disease. Sign it and pass it along!

2.) Fat Heffalump: I am NOT a disease.

But being at one end of the statistics doesn’t reflect who I am.  It doesn’t reflect how I feel.  It doesn’t reflect what my body can do.  It doesn’t reflect my value as a human being.  The AMA doesn’t know what it feels like to exist in my fat body.  They don’t know what it’s like in my body to wake up after a deep sleep, stretch and feel that stretch go down to my toes and up to my outstretched fingertips.  They don’t know what it feels like in my body to go swimming, feeling the cool water soft and cocooning around my body, and the wonderful sleepy feeling I get afterwards. 

3.) The #IAmNotADisease hashtag on Twitter. There’s so much good stuff going on there. Here’s a sampling, including a few of my own tweets:

2 thoughts on “I am a human being with a body, NOT a disease.

  1. Pingback: #IAmNotADisease roundup, part 3 | Tutus And Tiny Hats

  2. Your closet soduns like it replicates the one Cyndi Lauper had in 1985. Didn’t she also wear yellow tights?Seriously though – that looks like the best party ever. I want to have one of those (except my bitter little closet includes mostly practical pants suits from Ann Taylor and some Target t-shirts…that’s what you get for having 3 kids, a corporate day job and no independant wealth). I would have LOVED this when I was 12.

Leave a Reply

