Quote of the Day

“I asked [Naomi Klein] about her decision to have a baby, in spite of everything she knows.

She got quiet. ‘For a long time,’ she told me, ‘I just couldn’t see a future for a child that wasn’t some, like, Mad Max climate-warrior thing.’

Somehow, though, her engagement in the climate movement seems to have changed that. Another future seemed possible. She and Lewis decided to have a child, but struggled with infertility. Then, having given up, surprise: along came Toma.

If anything, the experience has made Klein all the more a fighter. She now believes that denying her desire to have a child, because of the mess being made by those willing to destroy the planet for profit, would be a form of surrender.

‘I guess what I want to say is, I don’t want to give them that power,’ she told me. “I’d rather fight like hell than give these evil motherfuckers the power to extinguish the desire to create life.'”

‘I’d rather fight like hell’: Naomi Klein’s fierce new resolve to fight for climate justice

2 thoughts on “Quote of the Day

  1. I don’t know if you tune in to This American Life, but their most recent free podcast on climate change was really interesting!

Leave a Reply

