Happy International No Diet Day!

Today, May 6th, is International No Diet Day. (It comes a day after Cinco de Mayo, and two days after Star Wars Day, making for quite the festive week!)

It’s been six years since I first came across Shapely Prose while exploring the feminist blog-o-sphere,  and there has been nothing more influential on my journey to accepting my body. It took time, and working through resistance, but the idea that there was nothing wrong with being fat–that it was possible to be healthy and happy at any size, and that weight-loss dieting was in fact both harmful and counterproductive–was a revolutionary spark.

And now here I am, blogging about fatshion and  living fabulously.

Loving my body isn’t always easy, and sometimes I still struggle with taking care of it: with eating the right foods for my body, getting enough joyful movement, finding ways to reduce stress and anxiety. But beneath those struggles is a baseline of acceptance: of knowing that my body is ok just the way it is. And for that, I am profoundly grateful.

One thought on “Happy International No Diet Day!

  1. Pingback: International No Diet Day links roundup, and delicious noms! | Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

