More on the advertising/activism divide, and why I’m not monetizing my blog

The internet just keeps being interesting.

Bronny at Fat Aus has a great post about how earning money from her blog sucked all the fun out of it. Between her piece, and a similar piece I read a while back (I can’t find it again, but I originally found it through an Already Pretty link roundup, and it was written by a woman who blogs about parenting, domestic stuff, DIYing home goods, etc.), I’ve made up my mind pretty decisively that making money from blogging isn’t for me.

It’s something I considered for a while–I’ve read a great deal about the world of professional blogging, especially on a site that I love for its all-around glamour and colorfulness, Rock n’ Roll Bride. I’ve spent some time studying the advertising pages of blogs like Scathingly Brilliant and the Offbeat Empire.

I’ve fantasized about free pretty things and glamorous events, about a source of supplemental income based solely on my love of shiny objects. But after all my recent reading and reflection, I’ve realized it’s just not right for me.

This is not to say I would 100% rule out any kind of advertising or working with a brand. As I mentioned in my last post, I currently have one ad on my blog, for an independent hair-accessory-maker who gives me a discount in exchange for running it.  I wouldn’t be averse to putting up similar ads from other indie designers who I genuinely like, and if someday someone wants to send me free stuff? Well, I like free stuff.

But I’m not seeking it out. I’m not blogging with the intent to monetize, and I’m not interested in diluting my voice by writing sponsored posts. I’m not judging others who do–it can definitely be done ethically, and if it works for you, great! But it’s not for me, for so many reasons: both the personal ones and the larger concerns about the commercialization of fatshion.

On another note related to Natalie’s post, Ariel of Kiddotrue has proposed a fatshion activist idea:

We are trying to place the focus back on the brands and hold them more accountable, right?

Why don’t we pick ONE brand to focus our energy on and put our resources into getting more than a standard stock answer from about extending their size range. It may not work, but it would be lovely to see everyone work together on something to try and change the system, even in a relatively minor way.

She suggests ASOS Curve as an initial choice, for multiple reasons. I really like this idea, and I hope it turns into a full-fledged project. I’m glad to see that Natalie’s reflections have sparked at least one idea for action!

7 thoughts on “More on the advertising/activism divide, and why I’m not monetizing my blog

  1. Followed you over from Feministe and read through all your Sunday Promos! That’s some hard criticism that Fatshion blogging is somehow taking away from Fat Activism. I don’t think I buy that. At all. Increasing visibility of marginalized people, and more importantly–showing them fucking happy in their skin (whatever outer-wear they enjoy) can only contribute to normalizing and acceptance, right?

    • Thanks for reading! First of all, I don’t think that fatshion blogging is taking away from fat activism. I think it’s problematic that a lot of fatshion has become coopted by large companies, and has become more about keeping up with trends and having to have the latest popular item of clothing than anything else. I also think the model of sponsored posts is problematic because it interrupts the connection between blogger and reader.

      But I do think that increasing visibility is still going on at the same time, and that there are plenty of non-commercial fatshion blogs out there. So, basically, I think fatshion has a lot of positive potential, but that doesn’t give it a free pass from criticism.

      • Ack! Sorry, I wasn’t trying to imply that YOU were saying those things, it was more in response to one of the quotes on one of the pages–that’s what I get for reading 5 posts at once–about how “if only fat-activism got half as much money as fatshion blogging” or some such thing. I was decrying that comment.

        I’m with you about non-free-passes. Sometimes I think it’s the most important to call out your alleged allies than it is your….enemies? If the ones who are supposed to be, and think they are “helping” are actually fucking up all over the place, let ’em know!

  2. Pingback: More thinking about the commercialization of fatshion « Tutus And Tiny Hats

  3. Pingback: Making Fatshion Accessible for All, Required for None | GLORIFY

  4. Pingback: On fa(t)shion blogging, dead conversations, and the potential for transformation | Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

