Twitter takes on fatshion blogging, capitalism, and revolution

I’ve been doing all sorts of thinking and reading about Natalie’s post, which I wrote about yesterday. This shit’s complex.

The most interesting analyses I’ve read have all been on Twitter. Contrary to the stereotype that Twitter’s all about what people ate for lunch, there are important discussions happening there.

Marianne Kirby‘s written some especially good stuff (read from bottom to top):

I really like this tweet from Natalie herself:

Suffice it to say, after everything I’ve been reading, I’m fairly sure I don’t want to take my blog down the road of monetization.

Disclosure: I do have one advertisement on my sidebar, from an independent accessory-maker who gave me a 10% discount in exchange for running her ad. I’m ok with ads like this, where I have no reason to believe that the advertiser gives two shits about what I write–or even reads my blog at all. But at this point, I’m not going to seek out advertising or write sponsored posts.

I’m also not going to tell other bloggers whether or not they should take ads, because the problem isn’t individual bloggers–as Natalie, Marianne, and others keep pointing out, it’s the system.

Which is nebulous and hard to change, but examining it is a good start. And examining is exactly what’s taking place all over Twitter.

Amanda Levitt also makes a really good point:

Yes yes yes. Fatshion blogging is great, but it’s not the whole picture of fat activism. And yet it’s the only part that’s getting money and mainstream media attention.

Helen Razer also tweeted a few things I found myself strongly agreeing with:

I think she really puts her finger on what’s so problematic about the relationship between fatshion bloggers and big companies. And on what bothers me about so many of the sponsored posts I’ve read (although I’ve read others that are basically like “look at these pretty things from X company! sponsored by X company!” and those don’t seem so bad).

Through Twitter, I also found this post about why getting paid to blog is an unsustainable business model. I agree, and I’m coming to think that blogging is best used as a platform from which to launch projects, rather than as a way to make money itself. This is echoed in the advice that Chris Guillebeau, who I mentioned in my previous post, gives in his books: focus on creating products and services that people want, rather than trying to make money from advertising.

So many good points, so much to think about. I’ll probably post more soon.

3 thoughts on “Twitter takes on fatshion blogging, capitalism, and revolution

  1. Pingback: More on the advertising/activism divide, and why I’m not monetizing my blog « Tutus And Tiny Hats

  2. Pingback: More thinking about the commercialization of fatshion « Tutus And Tiny Hats

  3. Pingback: On fa(t)shion blogging, dead conversations, and the potential for transformation | Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

