Fat goth rant

As much as I can pass for normal sometimes–well, depending how you define normal–I’m a goth kid at heart.

Me, circa 2001: blue hair, combat boots, fishnets…and matching American Girl doll.

And so, I want goth clothes. But when you wear a size larger than 14, this is easier said than done.

There are a few options out there – Chic Star, Pyramid Collection, Mystic Crypt. And they have some great stuff! But I want more variety. More choices. Not the same few items showing up all over the internet.

Also, I hate scrolling past page after page of clothing that only goes up to 1X or a small 2X in Mystic Crypt’s plus section. Seriously, stop taunting me like that.

Then there are Etsy shops like Rose Mortem and KMK Designs, which have gorgeous but expensive clothing. The high prices are understandable, considering they’re handmade by indie designers, and probably great quality, but they’re still mostly out of my price range. And they tend toward the Victorian/romantic end of goth, whereas it’s much harder to find plus size clothing at the late ’90s Hot Topic kid end. (No, I am not ashamed that I’m 27 years old and still count “late-90s-Hot-Topic-kid” among my favorite aesthetics.)

Also, I want pants.

As much as I love skirts and dresses, sometimes I just want to wear pants. With zippers. And straps. And corset-style lacing. These pants are my great white whale (heh, great white whale).

Seriously, it should not be this hard to find a pair of punky plus-size pants. I came across these gorgeous ones and found myself wishing so hard they came in my size. They may very well be my fashion soulmate, aside from the lack of cupcakes and tulle.

Without any further ado, I present you Clothing That Needs To Come in My Size, Now.

1.) Lip Service purple plaid maxi dress, Hot Topic, $89 2.) Red Queens Black Legion black gothic shoulder strap top, Angel Clothing, $94.50 3.) Eternal Love scarlet gothic kerchief skirt taffeta lace, Mystic Crypt, $47.99 4.) Dark Carnival Set, Good Goth, $39.95 for the corset, $29.95 for the petticoat, $39.95 for the overskirt 5.) Living Dead Souls magenta strappy bead & rose trimmed dress, Angel Clothing, $68.42 6.) Criminal Damage star plat pants black/fuschia pink, Angel Clothing, $61.90

Torrid used to have clothing like this, but sadly no more. I’m still kicking myself for not buying my entire wardrobe from them back in the day.

Also frustrating: I’ve come across a decent number of straight-sized bondage pants and corset-style tops while thrifting. They’re not the majority of clothing in any given Goodwill, but they’re definitely out there–whereas finding similar clothing in plus sizes is almost impossible. It sucks that a straight size goth can get the occasional lucky find for $5, while plus size ones are relegated to shopping online. It makes it harder, more expensive, and slower to build up a good wardrobe.

I want plus size goth clothing (and all clothing!) to become more ubiquitous, so that it starts showing up in thrift stores too.

1.) Hell Bunny Lenoir red tartan zip dress, Hot Topic, $54.50 2.) KikGirl dark blue pink stitch denim pants, Hot Topic, $68 3.) Hell Bunny black and red plaid strap pants, Hot Topic, $59.50 4.) Queen of Darkness long red gown with black overskirt, Angel Clothing, $117.30 5.) Living Dead Souls pink tartan eyelet dress, VampireFreaks, $52.99 6.) Dark Star purple black satin lace burlesque dress, Mystic Crypt, $71.99

Don’t worry, I’m not going to finish this post without giving you some cool plus size/custom size stuff. Here you go!

1.)Plus size Victorian jumper dress silver and black velvet flock, KMK Designs, $145 2.)Cosette fairy skirt in tulle and velvet, Rose Mortem, $89 3.) Corinth steampunk dress, Pyramid Collection, $110 4.)Corset ribbon lace dress, Chic Star, $49.95 5.)Meringue petticoat in black, Domino Dollhouse, $49.99

1.)Lace-up Gothic corset jersey top, Chic Star, $36.95 2.)Black chiffon maxi skirt with split detail, Yours, $41 3.)Corsetta top in Gothic lace, Pyramid Collection, $46.99 4.)Corset ribbon lace top, Chic Star, $49.95 5.)Lenore velvet fairy long ruffle skirt, Rose Mortem, $299 6.)Gothic lace corset velvet jacket, Chic Star, $65.95

I leave you with another baby-goth-Laura. Who hopes someday to live in a world where all the clothing comes in all the sizes. Let’s make this happen.

Portrait of the artist as a young Goth.

One thought on “Fat goth rant

  1. Pingback: Another fat goth rant « Tutus And Tiny Hats

Leave a Reply

