Friday links and flowers

Brought to you by a lovely dahlia that I bought at the farmer’s market.

I took it on a lunch date to the rooftop garden.

On fashion, time, Hillary Clinton, numismatists, and Big Coin: YES to all of this. I believe so strongly that fashion should be voluntary and fun, not a means for gender policing and judging.

There are some great comments in this Captain Awkward thread, about ways to disengage and disconnect from the internet when you feel like you’re going down the rabbit hole.

Free beef and bacon for Boston: I read this in the Metro this morning while I was on the T. The paper edition was particularly full of fail, as its cover depicted Menino with a cheeseburger for a body. But that’s about the level of discourse I’ve come to expect from the Metro. What really bothered me was Menino’s challenge to Boston to lose 1 million pounds this year. I don’t live within the city of Boston, so I guess I can go on my merry 230-pound way, but it still pisses me off. When will government officials ever understand that healthy eating and exercise =/ weight loss?

Other Things Missouri Representative Todd Akin Believes To Be True About the Uterus, Besides Its Ability to “Shut Down” A Legitimate Rape: This is the best response I’ve seen to Todd Akin’s ass-millinery.  Also, now I never have to worry about running out of baking soda again!

• You can substitute up to three tablespoons’ worth of a uterus for any recipe that calls for baking soda.

Fashion Pirate: The Weird Girl Trope. As a 27-year old with colorful, punkish style (and who would still have pink hair if I could), I say “hell yes” to all of this.

I am not a 2-D Teen Weird Girl of the Internet made to serve you and make you want to dye your hair too, and if you see me as that, you aren’t seeing me at all. You have failed to look closer. And that is your loss.

Support Levi: A Fundraiser for Levin Gammons. If you can, please donate or at least pass this along. It is absolutely, incredibly fucked-up that in this day and age, someone can be imprisoned for a year in solitary confinement solely because he is transgender. Levi needs and deserves all the help he can get.

On a less depressing note, here are two more animals in tutus: Lightning the chinchilla and Lexi the golden retriever. Aww!

It has been a long week for me, and I’m glad it’s almost over. I hope you all have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

