Friday Links, 11/9/12

Today’s edition of Friday Links has been brought to you by Thessaly, one of the two cutest cats ever. (Her sister, Toto, is also adorable, but harder to corral for pictures.)

Fa(t)shion
-My life could use a bit more Melbourne Cup fashion. Actually, a lot more. That tutu and flower crown! Those fascinators! *swoon*
-Dots now offers online shopping! Which is exciting because I like their clothes, but the last time I went to their store, I couldn’t try on any of it, as the cashiers were busy ringing up a long line of customers and there was no one to unlock the dressing rooms.
-Wardrobe Oxygen has an interview with Desiree, a fabulous older fashionista.  My favorite quote: “Fashion is what talented designers are paid to churn out up to four times a year, in many cases at great personal and emotional expense. Style is the opposite. It’s like slipping into a dream. There’s excitement, fear, hesitation and you learn to fall into yourself.”
-A kitty fascinated by sparkly shoes. Awwwwww.
-Sophisticate noir November theme: hosiery (and some awesome shoes too).
-Too poor for Old Navy.
-7 reasons you should compliment total strangers. I really like doing this, as it brightens people’s day–just like it brightens mine when they compliment my fashion choices.
-A Tumblr of Muslims wearing things.
-Fatshionistas in the New York Times!
-A new plus size clothing buying/selling marketplace, Abbey Post, will be launching in December.
-Six great +40 fashion blogs.
-DIY: make rhinestone jewelry colorful with acrylic paint.

She’s just a big blob of cuddle.

FA
-I wish I were in San Francisco, because the Fatty Affair 2013 sounds amazing.
-New Zealand wants to keep out the fatties. That’s…wonderful. It’s a pretty fucked-up world when people can be denied the ability to immigrate due to their size.
-The real complications of obesity.
-15 books that shaped my body-loving journey.
-Two of the many things that piss me off…

The US Election 
-Tammy Duckworth, all-around badass, elected to Congress.
-Buddhist, Hindu make history with election to Congress.
-Binders full of women…are about to occupy the Senate. I find it a bit sad, though, that electing 20 female Senators (out of 100) is still something to celebrate.
-So much #winning.

Hurricane Sandy
-Marathon runners embrace chance to help residents recover.
-When good intentions aren’t enough: how to improve Sandy relief
-A Sandy-cleanup first date with a Jersey boy.
-Donate to help an LGBT teen center that was destroyed by Sandy.
-The Sandy 15? Spare me.

Other
-My friend Khadeja’s rant about job-hunting.
-The Great Irrelevant Princess Debate.
-Five lessons learned by bunking off work.
-An interesting photo project about the lives of young Iranians, mostly women.
-This high school’s philosophy sounds wonderful.
-There is nothing cuter than a butterfly sitting on a golden retriever’s nose.

This is just awesome:

2 thoughts on “Friday Links, 11/9/12

  1. I’ve been slightly obsessed with your blog since just recently discovering it….and so I was totally shocked when you linked back to mine! Ha! Thank you so much! And I used to wear something in my hair almost every day, and then fell out of the habit, but after seeing your awesome pics, I may need to start up again.

    • You’re welcome! I like to spread the blog love. :-D

      And huzzah for getting back into wearing hair pieces! If you want, maybe we could do a challenge, where we each wear a different fascinator/headband/etc every day for a week or something.

Leave a Reply

