Tutu envy, part 3

Recently I saw both Sal of Already Pretty and Alison of Wardrobe Oxygen wearing lovely tutus.

I love Sal’s slightly goth take on the tutu. And check out the kitty pictures in her post!

Alison, mixing stripes and leopard like a boss.

Alison linked to the eBay posting where she found her tutu. Sal just wrote that she got hers on eBay, but considering how similar it looks, I’m guessing it might be from the same seller.

And that tutu? Absolute love.

I want it in ALL THE COLORS.

And it’s only $10.

$10!

But according to Alison, it only fits up to about a size 10, which is about what I would expect from a “one size fits all” skirt.

It’s not impossible to find plus size tutus, thank goodness. But $10 tutus that come in a gorgeous range of colors? That’s something I can only dream about. If I could get tutus that cheaply, I’d be wearing them every day. I’d wear them with T-shirts and sneakers, with pearls and a sequin jacket, with blazers, with leopard-print, with flower crowns…

*sigh*

14 thoughts on “Tutu envy, part 3

  1. Okay, I NEED a tutu now.

    Do you ever think about making clothes? I lack the attention to fine detail to stick with dressmaking, but the few times I’ve tried to make clothes, I got surprisingly good results. Just looking at a tutu, it seems like it’s within the realm of possibility. Elastic waistband, something nice for a liner, chiffon. I still don’t know that it could be done for less than $10 but now I’m tempted to try.

    • That’s a good idea! I have thought about it, but I tend to fail at crafts in general, and I haven’t sewed since middle school. We had to learn sewing in 7th grade, and I hated it, so I never did it again even though I have so many ideas of clothes I’d like to make.

      I have seen DIY-tutu tutorials, but they’re for more costume-y tutus (not that I don’t like those too, but I really want a nice work-appropriate one). I might give it a try, though. And if you make one, let me know how it turns out! :)

  2. Pingback: Terrific tutu tutorials « Tutus And Tiny Hats

  3. I have made a tutu for Emerson and it’s super easy, but it’s something that requires an underlayer. Get elastic, make it a ring the size of your waist. Either purchase bolt tulle or tulle strips and make strips twice the length you want the tutu and loop around the elastic.
    Sample tutorial: http://rookiemag.com/2012/09/how-to-make-a-tutu/ (if you do with elastic you don’t need a waistband and all that; easy to do while watching TV)

    I got another tutu in black from what I thought was the same retailer but seems to be different and the skirt is 99% the same, slightly different wasitband but fits same/same length. They’d be smart to make them in larger sizes! :-)

  4. Pingback: Why a “digital Aristotle” is a terrible idea « Tutus And Tiny Hats

  5. Pingback: Tutu news « Tutus And Tiny Hats

  6. I am crazy late on this post but I was wondering if you’d ever tried Malco Modes petticoats? Not the typical all tulle tutu type skirt, these are usually made in chiffon but they have other materials too, including sequined & metallic fabrics :D . The size range is nicely inclusive, they come in a buttload of colors as well and they are rather inexpensive. I have one that I bought in high school that is actually a child’s size and it fit me well as a size 2 sixteen year old and still fits me well as a size 10 twenty-two year old with several inches left in the waistband to spare! I believe they make petticoats that will accommodate up to a “54 waist, which is awesome! I was trolling Domino Dollhouse’s website & the tutu skirts I looked at were cute but they are kinda expensive. I was reminded of the Malco Modes ones so I thought I’d come here and share ;) .

    • I’ve seen Malco Modes petticoats at dance festivals, and they look pretty similar to the Domino Dollhouse ones! :) I haven’t seen the metallic and sequined ones, but those sound amazing. I will definitely take a look for them–thanks for the recommendation! :)

Leave a Reply

